The Blogging Process

emilywalkerphotography-typewriter-photography-blogging-1I would like to claim I have a routine, stress-free and timely blogging process, but I don’t. In fact, I would go so far as to say it’s almost the exact opposite. Sometimes, however, things go smoothly and I get everything done on schedule and am ready to roll before my ideal posting time. In a nutshell, here’s how I get a blog post together.

If I have a recent shoot that’s ready and scheduled to share, I just have to place my watermarks, resize, export and upload to WordPress. Don’t let the brevity of that process fool you, though. Before that there’s culling and editing that goes on, which takes a good chunk of time. The steps might seem short, but they all take a while.

If I don’t have a recent shoot to share, I have to think of an idea or concept about which to write. Sometimes, it’ll be an update, like “Cat-ching Up”, a summary, like my “At the Moment” series, or a reflection, like “Healthier Alternatives”. I really enjoy drafting and writing out my blog post on paper before it ever hits my keyboard. I feel like it’s easier to jot down ideas and scratch off inadequate words on a tangible surface, rather than through an impersonal digital format. After I have a final draft, I scroll through my photo library for an accompanying picture or set up and take a new one. Import, edit, watermark, export. Boom.

If I am expedient, all this will happen the day before I’m set to post. If I’m not, it’ll happen an hour before. It all really depends on how busy I am. The WordPress app is installed on my phone, so I can also work on posts while I’m on the go. I hope this has given you a sneak peek into how my posts come together!

Happy blogging.

Quote of the day, “Blogging is not rocket science, it’s about being yourself, and putting what you have into it.”
-Unknown

Leave a Comment

